Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

RCBS Rock chucker press?

A friend of mine is willing to give me a RCBS Rock Chucker press. I am new to reloading and a monthly IPSC shooter. I want to get started but I hate to invest (even in a free one) in a reloader that I won't be satisfied with later.

If you think this one is acceptable, what else will I need to get going with .45 and 9mm reloading? Powder measurer, scales, calipers, dies, de-burring tools, tumblers?

The rock chucker is a single stage press, so it will be a lot of effort to crank out the number of rounds a typical IPSC shooter needs.

That said, most of what you will need to buy will be compatible with a Dillon when you get one. You'll need a scale, dies, calipers, and case cleaning equipment. I've never used or seen a need for deburring any of my pistol cases.

I'm not sure how powder dispensing works on a single stage, as I started with a Dillon 550. But you will need some kind of powder measure.

Ultimately, you will wind up with a Dillon (SDB, 550 or 650), and be happy with it.

DD

The Rock Chucker is a solid press. The problem is, if you are going to be shooting the type of volume that you will need for IPSC you will want a progressive. You can get the RCBS Piggyback (read about it here) kit to make the Rock Chucker progressive. The kit basically turns the ROck Chucker into an RCBS 2000 (I think you will also need to get the Powder Measure though.)

Eventually you will end up taking the route DogmaDog outlined. I did. I sold my Rock Chucker with Piggyback after getting a Dillon 650. However, it would have been nice to keep the Rock Chucker for load development.

Diesel,

Take the Rock Chucker and thank him very much, then get on the horn to Brian (877-219-5598 toll free) and get a Dillon progressive press. You can get into a Square Deal progressive press for not much more than the accessories you need to make the Rock Chucker work will cost.