Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

chrono issues

B_Seehawer

What can cause crazy swings in chrono velocities?

I'm not sure what "crazy" means to you, but I've had some 50-70 FPS variances. However, I just recently purchased a Competition Electronics chronograph and I'm still learning how to use it. I believe my results were caused from varying light conditions and mixed brass.

I watched two guys crono the other day. Here is what I call crazy. The first guy shoots a couple shots and they are 930 to 960 pfs, then he takes another shot and it is 2350 fps, so he keeps shooting and the numbers jump around like that. The second guy shoots a few shots (10) and they all come out ok. So they turn to me and ask, what is going on. So I said let me check it with my gun I shoot 5 across and they are all within 20 fps of my normal 1350 fps. This was a high dollar crono with the remote and all that. All shot from the same point. So first guy steps up again and the crono goes nuts 935, 3270, 2350, 920 etc.

Now that is what I call crazy reading, because if that 9 mm Glock had a 3270fps round in it there would be tupperware spread out all over Texas.

My theory is maybe some debris left in the cases when he loaded them, I set a range on fire one time with burning corn media that was left in my reloads.

Depending on the powder, crimp, barrel length, tightness of the barrel, primer, consistency of the bullets and loading, powder drops, you can get some big swings, a big swing is more than 60 fps. Between guns with the same load it can be more. Did I say the average crono can vary 4-5%.

So now you have a definition of Crazy that is more than 1000 fps variance with the same load, gun, shooter, same temp time of day sun etc. Crazy load was 124gr MTG with TiteGroup. (if I recall it was 4.0gr).

Edited by CocoBolo