Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Inconsistant OAL?

I am new to the 550b, so hopefully this is a simple question. I am getting varying OAL of around +/- .004, and it fluctuates through my run. I have everything setup as instructed and the dies are seated tight. I am using full stroke of the loader also. I am using RCBS dies, and using them in my single stage press, my OAL never changes. Is this normal/acceptable for progressive loaders, or am I missing something?

Is your shellplate snugged down so it is not flexing? If you have any play in the shellplate, you might want to re-read the section on adjusting it. Don't forget the set-screw on the SIDE of the main shaft. A whole lot of people have forgotten to loosen it before trying to adjust the shellplate bolt. Good luck and post back your results!

Brian

Your first few, and last few, will have different OALs also. When all four stations are not full, the OAL will vary, slightly, some times as much as .004. If you are getting .004 from round to round with all stations full, then there is another issue, like shellplate not being snug. Also, make sure you are using the correct seating die stem. The stem is two sided(ended), one end for FMJ/round nose, one for JHP. That could possibly make a difference as well.

One other thing to consider, when comparing OALs are you comparing same headstamps on the brass? Win vs Win, RP vs RP? If you are comparing different headstamps, you could get some fluctuations.

you can check the actual bullets themselves as well. bullets will vary slightly as well.

For our game (Im assuming your loading pistol here), .004 doesnt seem like that much of a difference to me. Drop them all through a case gage and see how they do. If they all pass, load'em up and shoot'em!