Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

KEYHOLE GLOCK 34

67 LS1 Camaro

I've been competing with my G17(KKM drop-in barrel) for about two years using my own cast(LEE tumble mould 124gr) with good results.I experimented with different alloys from weights 121-128 grs. All good . WIN SP primers and N320 . I keep the power factor at 136-139( no excuse for steel ). I try to keep the cost down by casting.I have access to a good amount of wheel weights. I do buy MG CMJ's but I save that for my OPEN STI....

One match my father-in-law forgot to bring ammo for his G34(Wolf barrel). So I gave him some of my ammo. We noticed keholes in about 50% of his targets. I said it has to be his gun because the same batch of ammo is fine in my G17. So the verdict was his barrel(5 months ago at the time) .

NOW I just got me a new G34(with KKM barrel).I loaded 700rds , that lot has same cast batch,same powder and primers. All loaded in one session. I went to the bullseye(stand and shoot)range to zero the gun and test drive.Happy very accurate.Fired 130rds and inspected the barrel,very little leading and no change in accuracy.Went home clean barrel/gun .Match day tomorrow!!

Today(is tomorrow)match day. Shot my first stage and found keyholes !! WTF !! about 25% of my shots .I was wondering why I was taking alot of extra shots on the 8" plates. Checked my barrel- CLEAN ... Shot my 2nd stage and same thing,lucky that stage was an all paper assault stage.

OK, I've sort of read some treads here about it. If its good on my G17, then it cannot be crimp,powder burn rate,bullet diameter,bullet hardness,lube,or barrel twist rate ? Could it be barrel length ? HELP !!

Edited by 67 LS1 Camaro

As Kevin said. Load up 50 or so MG with the same powder and use the same barrel. If no problems, run the same batch of lead bullets through the barrel. If you get keyholeing again, you will probably have to tweak the loads..

Barrels (even from the same manufacture) can react differently to the same loads.