Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Where should I zero my shotgun at with slugs?

I had a question, I just recently bought a FN SLP MK1. I was wondering if I could get suggestions as to what range I should zero my shotgun at for competition with slugs. I am very new to the shotgun realm, and have always used a military provided Benelli. Any help would be great thank you!

I had a question, I just recently bought a FN SLP MK1. I was wondering if I could get suggestions as to what range I should zero my shotgun at for competition with slugs. I am very new to the shotgun realm, and have always used a military provided Benelli. Any help would be great thank you!

Most folks want a 100 yard zero. Assuming a 1 oz slug and 1250 fps, that will be about 4 inches low at 150 yards.

I like a 50 yd zero. For most of the closer targets which can be smaller plates it allows me to hold right on the target. At 100+ targets tend to be either full size IPSC shapes or bigger plates and I can then just hold on the top edge or neck.

YMMV depending on the slug load and your muzzle velocity/ballistics.

All depends on the average distance of your slug shots at matches. My matches have not really been slug heavy lately :angry2: and the last one was at a distance of only a few yards shooting clays under a table. Challenging actually but most have been 50 or less in my area so I zero at about 25 and using brenneke reduced recoil they are spot on at 50 and I actually have not checked it at 100. Remeber,,, do what suits your matches not what others do!! :cheers:

Thank you so much for all the quick responses! I have yet to shoot slugs at a 3 gun match, but I want to be prepared! I think I will zero the shotty at 50 yards and see where that leaves me for 100 yards. Seems like the two opinions so far are 50 yds and 100 yds. Time to expirement then and see how it holds up! :D