Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New to 9mm 1911's

JoeInKS

I'm new to the whole 1911 platform and have been shooting mostly M&P, Glock, Springfield, and H&K up to now. Have always had the desire to get a nice 1911 but, of all things, in 9mm. Have been looking at the STI pistols and some other sites. Can anyone make a recommendation for a stainless finish manufacturer / model that will mostly be used for local league shooting (not intending to have a race gun or the like; I'm just not that good). Ideally would like something out of the box that has a good trigger. If I get a single-stack model, what's the largest capacity magazine that I can acquire? If I go the double-stack route, is there anything other than the magazine area components that are not interchangeable with parts from Midway or the like?

Have even considered starting with a frame and building from there....

Thanks!

Springfield makes a SS 9mm. Trigger can sometimes be dececent but definately not a competition trigger. For a single stack its going to be a 10 round mag max with the tripp mags. For a double stack, it depends on the length, guts, tuning etc.

I love my Dan Wesson PM9. However, DW is not manufacturing them this year, if you can find one they're pretty good out of the box. The only thing they really need for competition is a magwell(IMO).

I'd say Dan Wesson also.. but they arent in the 2010 line up (there are some used ones around). Next choice is a STI Spartan, then Trojan depending on how much you want to spend.

Springfield and Smith and Wesson would be my next choices.

I just got an STI Trojan 9mm and have the 40 version also great gun's. Just shot the 9 yesterday for the first time ate all my reloads without a hitch. There's also the new Spartan, about $300.00 dollars or so less than the Trojan but there are guy's on here that love them and already have high round count's, I'm sure they will chime in.