Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Slide mount vs C-more type red dot sights

TnJ

Hello

I am new to open guns and have been reading the posts about red-dot sights. They get too technical and into comparisons of brands.

My question is what are general the pros and cons (differences) between a slide mounted type red-dot vs a c-more like red dot sight?

I am having a new STI 38 super open gun for IPSC competition made for me.

Some background. I have been shooting for only 18 months and one year of that doing IPSC competitions. I started with a Kimber 45 and quickly went to a 9mm M&P. My main goal for the past year has been to improve against myself which I have but it still isn't fun always being last. I'm a petite female and not very strong (yet). I have a fabulous friend who lent me his STI 38 super open gun and I loved it. Got me excited and motivated again!

It has a c-more and I do have occasional trouble finding the dot (however, only shot with it 3 times all in competitions so i know i will improve). Last weekend I was able to try an open gun with a sight mounted red-dot.

I found it easier to find the dot but it moves up and down much more than the c-more.

So in addition to the general question above any difference in parallax error and if so should i be concerned?

Is there any difference in accuracy?

thanks very much

Julie

Some slide mounted optics (like the Docter) are parallax free out to about 40 meters. The reason you can find the dot easier with a slide mounted optic is because you are used to shooting with iron sights. Picking up the dot with a C-More means changing your stance as the gun needs to be lower so your eye can see through the lens to the target.