Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

I'M NOT SANDBAGGING

joshua

I've been shooting IPSC on and off for the past 10 years now and I can't get out of class B, BUT I usually place within the M class of shooters in most clubs.  What is wrong with me?  I've won B class in some not so big matches where I even beat A class, but I still can't get out of that 74%.  Sometimes my classifiers are so pathetic that I just barely make C class in the percentage.  I don't want to say the classifiers aren't accurate but what am I doing wrong?  I really want to get my M card, heck I'll take a GM card but I just can't shoot those classifiers high enough.  Do you think there are too many that are Grand bagging, just shooting the classifier over and over at warp speed just to get a hail mary grand master score? josh

Classifiers are a nice little test of one or two skills each, the big matches show how you can put everything together. There are a lot of people that are grandbagging, either that or I'm way behind on the classifiers. I think unless you really tank a classifier with a malfunction or a total meltdown don't reshoot it. It is a on demand test. I see a bunch of people that shoot the damn thing 6-10 times then send in the best. They are also the ones going to a big match and getting beat by 90% of the c shooters.

I actually wrote an article on how grandbagging is okay. Published in Front Sight. Since then I've modified my position somewhat. I'll still argue that grandbaggers are hurting themselves more than anyone else, but I've decided to no longer shoot classifiers more than once. Right now, of my six current classifiers, only the two oldest were shot more than once, and they'll fall off before I move up. I like that. Shooting the classifiers once makes the challenge greater. And when I do get my Master card, I don't want anyone saying I got it through grandbagging.