Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Reseating Primers

the duck of death

I've never blown up a round by reseating primers by hand on loaded rounds so I have no "personal experience" with it. I've never actually been hit by a bus either...

Just thinking about it though, we've all heard of primers going off during normal loading operations and I'm pretty sure Dillon shields their primer tubes for a reason. Primers are designed to detonate under force and you're putting a primer under a powder charge and projectile and applying force. I just think you'd be better served safety and time wise by making the necessary adjustments to your primer seating pin so that you don't have to seat by hand. If you are going to have to seat a primer by hand anyway, why not do it before you drop powder just to be safe?

John

So this is the senerio: I've done it 70K times with no problem. You have " never blown up a round by reseating primers by hand on loaded rounds" but you KNOW it to be dangerous.

I'm only referring to full seating the primer since it is not always seated completely by a progressive press. I see no difference to doing this than by using a hand primer in the 1st place to seat the primer. Please advise me of the difference.

Since I have been doing this there has been NO failures to fire due to a light striker spring in my Glock.

*QUOTE*

we've all heard of primers going off during normal loading operations

Sorry I have never heard of this, there is always something amiss, a turned primer, a primer hole not lined up with the primer, excessive force used etc., I don't call this normal loading operations.

Question:Why don't primers go off when a empty case is primed with a hand priming tool?

Answer:Because it is safe to do.

If this is safe to prime a empty case then it is safe to fully seat the primer in a loaded case.

*QUOTE*

If you are going to have to seat a primer by hand anyway, why not do it before you drop powder just to be safe?