Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Horus scopes and reticles

rstimpfling

I am starting to build a precision AR in .308 for long range competition shooting. I have been talking to friend who is active duty military about scopes. He told me that the Special Ops community is using the Horus reticles to some extent. In particular the H37 reticles for scopes and the H32 for a spotting scope. I am wondering if anyone has used or looked at these reticles specifically and also the Horus scopes.

I am on a bit of a budget for this build. I know the rule is to get the best glass you can afford. I am budgeting between $1500.00 and $2000.00 for the scope purchase. I am new at this, so any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

I have two Horus scopes ("cheapies") and a Horus reticle (H38?) in an SN3 3.8-22X.

Personally I wouldn't spend $1500 on a Horus brand scope. The two Horus scopes I have were on closeout and they were like $300-$400. I wouldn't trust the tracking on the scopes that I have. But then again they really aren't made for a lot of knob turning.

My main beef in spending real $$$ on a Horus brand scope is the awful warranty. Horus' warranty is only for one year. Scopes will break. I can stomach a one year warranty on a $300-400 scope. But a one year warrant on an $800-$1500 scope... no thanks.

After getting the H38 I'd caution you in getting an offset Horus reticle. If you are required to do any side prone shots the POI won't be in the grid and you can't see your hits with an offset reticle at high magnification.

I have two Horus scopes ("cheapies") and a Horus reticle (H38?) in an SN3 3.8-22X.

Personally I wouldn't spend $1500 on a Horus brand scope. The two Horus scopes I have were on closeout and they were like $300-$400. I wouldn't trust the tracking on the scopes that I have. But then again they really aren't made for a lot of knob turning.