Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

rifle barrel

glocklover

I can't give you a number. But most often the problem is erosion of the throat of the barrel, and depending on the profile of your barrel, a gunsmith can shorten the barrel and rechamber it. You can have many more rounds of shooting through it.

Mark K.

If all you were using it for was a short-range bullet hose with 55-64gr bullets, you'd probably still be okay.

For use in NRA HP - using heavier (69-77gr) bullets @ short range and dedicated long range (80gr) bullets @ 500-600... people may start seeing their 600yd X-count go down around 3500rds and generally have a new barrel installed shortly thereafter.

If it were being primarily used for say, F-Class i.e. scope only, steady diet of long range bullets and on the smaller target, I'd have a new barrel in hand ready to stick in there around 3000rds or so.

YMMV,

Monte

I have my original iron sight AR that I used for 3 gun when I was a newbie!!!, it gave 1.5moa to 2moa out to 300 when it was new, it is now 8years old and has 30000+ rds thru it and still shoots 2moa out to 300.

it just depends on what kind of accuracy you feel is adequate, for 3 gun a 2moa rifle is all you need.

Trapr

I have a buddy that told me about "bullet jump" that I'm not reloading my rounds long enough. I have always just copied factory rounds. Have you guys had any experience with this? Will it help my groupings?

You can't load long for an AR-15 because the magazine is too short, so just forget everything he told you.

I have a buddy that told me about "bullet jump" that I'm not reloading my rounds long enough. I have always just copied factory rounds. Have you guys had any experience with this? Will it help my groupings?

You can't load long for an AR-15 because the magazine is too short, so just forget everything he told you.

When I shoot slow fire at 200 and 600 yards I load one at a time (service rifle matches).