Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Old Holster that does not meet the safety rules

CHA-LEE

At a recent local match an experienced shooter had an old style leather holster that had the trigger guard covered on the outside, but it was completely uncovered on the inside. If you reached in between his body and the gun while the gun was holstered you had full access to the trigger.

This holster is not legal since rule 5.2.7 states “Competitors must not be permitted to commence a course of fire wearing:” then 5.2.7.4 states “A holster which does not completely prevent access to, or activation of, the trigger of the handgun while holstered.”

When I pointed this out to the competitor he stated with an attitude “Well I have been using this same holster for the past 15 years at matches so I don’t know why it wouldn’t be legal now”.

I noticed this holster issue after he was done shooting for the day so I didn’t press the issue for this particular match because there really wasn’t much I could do other than tell him to get an appropriate holster for the next match. For this given match I was the RM/MD so I felt that it was my duty to point out the safety issue and propose a solution. Telling him to get a legal holster for the next match was not well received by the shooter.

What is the best way to tackle this situation other than what I did? If he shows up at the next match I know that the RM/MD should hold to the rules and tell him to use a “Legal” holster or not shoot the match. But how do you gracefully convince a shooter that has been using an illegal holster for so long to switch? To me it should be obvious to the shooter that legal holster should be used.

Print the page from the online rule book that applies, with the passages highlighted. Tell him it used to be legal, but for safety reasons, the rules changed.

This nullifies his argument that 'its been legal for 15 years' and forces him to the next stage of the issue. Comply or go home.