Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9mm Major Blaster

RC1

Hi,

I would sure like to tap into the vast pool of knowledge and experience from you shooters on this great forum, in regards to a new gun purchase.

I plan on having a short 9mm major blaster built. Over the last year or so I have observed a significant amount of controversy on the subject, and as I am fairly new to this game this is causing me some concern.

The aspects of the 9mm major that I like are:

1.Cost of brass of course.

2.I have other 9mm guns. This would simplify loading

3.The prospect of practicing with factory Winchesters from Wally-World is very attractive to me. I understand from reading this forum that Chris Grube is having good success with them.

My concerns are,

1.I have heard that it can be very difficult to get the 9mm to eject consistently.

2.My powder choices would severely be limited and developing a load that works may be more difficult to find.

3.As a relatively new shooter this may not be the safest place to start, because trying to make 9mm major puts you on the ragged of edge safety anyway.

4.I really don’t want to have to deal with a super finicky gun at this point. Instead I need to focus my attention on developing my shooting skills.

I have selected a gunsmith, who through my research seems to be well respected in this community (the shooting community). He is more than willing to build the gun the way I want, but is not convinced that 9x19 is the way to go. His suggestion is to go to 9x23 SC.

The build so far looks like this:

1.SV frame and slide (Am having difficulty finding SV Should I hold out or go for STI?)

2.Shuman barrel (NOT AET)

3.Brozzo Compensator (Cone type)

4.IceDawson Magwell

5.Aftec Extractor

6.Tungsten Guide rod

7.Long Firing Pin (Limcat)

8.Sear Spring (EGW)

9.Hammer Doug Koenig

10.Swenson Ambidex

11.Long Ejector

12.Alchin mount

13.C-more sight

14.SV/STI beavertail

15.4- 140 SV mags w/grahams base pads