Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

308 brass trimming

S-Hurt

I was told the best overall length for 308 brass is between 2.005 - 2.010 I recently aquired some 308 win brass (free) which measures 2.000 or 2.001 oal. Is this brass alright to use for loading in a DSA 308 semi auto rifle? I also purchased some Lake City brass which was 2.020 oal and I cut them down between 2.005 and 2.010. But, what if a piece of brass sneaks in at 2.015? Yes, I'm new to loading 308 and would like to know how picky I should be for these overall length tolerances when cutting the brass?

Did you size them first then measure? The length will change after you size them and the neck will require trimming to length.

Make sure they drop into a HEADSPACE gauge (not case gauge) and are within the tolerances. Rifles headspace from the shoulder and not the rim like a pistol, so the shoulder needs to be at the correct dimensions.

You can use a Wilson or a Dillon headspace guage to check the brass and adjust your dies with.

I deprimed the brass with a Dillon sizing die and then took it to a guy who commercially processes the primer pockets for military brass although the winchester brass did not need this process. I then put the brass through the Dillon trimmer which also sized them I guess a second time. I purchased a Dillon headspace guage and they all appear to be fine.

I wondering how exact these overall length tolerances should be? Are the casings that are 2.000 oal all right to use or are they too short? If I have a casing that is 2.015 oal is that a big deal?

Thanks for the info ...... I've tried to educate myself through this website and other Internet articles. I'm finding reloading rifle brass is a different animal than pistol and I'm asking a ton of questions. I've ordered two semi auto 308 rifles and the first one will be here on the 13th so I'm excited to start reloading the brass I have processed.

• 1 month later...