Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

STI MatchMaster

SimonM

I got my SteelMaster, which is very similar in size etc. to this new MatchMaster, about a month ago. I like the balance of the gun and it shoots very nice. The only differences with the SteelMaster and the MatchMaster seem to be the slide lightening, the longer comp and, of course, the caliber (.38 super).

What do you think about this new offering? It has a longer comp which can utilize the bigger amount of gasses generated by .38 super ammo, but how do you think it's going to behave; will it be truly competitive in open class?

There probably aren't many people on this forum, if any, who have had a chance to shoot one yet, but post your thoughts anyway.

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Probably not many have shot it but there have been many built almost exactly like it. For a while short guns were the rage but they seam to be falling out of favor. Personally I think it will set on the shelf and collect dust. I like the idea of a basic (at least by STI standards) lower priced open gun pretty much ready to go out of the box without the long wait. But I think they missed the boat with 38 super. Just compare it to the classifieds here open guns in 9mm sell quicker and for more money than 38 supers.

I got my SteelMaster, which is very similar in size etc. to this new MatchMaster, about a month ago. I like the balance of the gun and it shoots very nice. The only differences with the SteelMaster and the MatchMaster seem to be the slide lightening, the longer comp and, of course, the caliber (.38 super).

What do you think about this new offering? It has a longer comp which can utilize the bigger amount of gasses generated by .38 super ammo, but how do you think it's going to behave; will it be truly competitive in open class?

SimonM