Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Bad batch of primers?

kgunz11

Look at these primers and tell me if you notice anything. When I opened the first pack I saw a little discoloration, but thought "eh they're just tarnished a little bit, shouldn't hurt anything right?" So I loaded some ammo. 600 rounds worth! :surprise:

Well I started shooting some of this batch of ammo and I am getting tons of what appears to be light strikes. I had some ammo left from a previous batch of primers and they all fired without a hitch, so that has me to thinking the mainspring is fine.

In the presumed bad batch of primers, I am getting about 10 failures to fire per 100 rounds as evident in these videos:

http://www.youtube.com/user/kgunz11

Has anyone ever gotten a bad batch of primers? Do these look a little funny to you? What do I do with the other 1400 primers I have left from this purchase? Most places wont take back primers... :angry2:

DSC00051Large.jpg

DSC00050Large.jpg

Will they fire on a second strike? If so, you may need to seat them deeper. IOW, high primers. I've shot lots of discolored primers with no trouble but there is always the possibility they are bad. What brand are they?

MLM

I am using a Dillon 1050 to load them, they are seated as deep as the Dillon will seat them. It's not like I am short stroking a 650, the 1050 does everything in the down stroke.

The Primers are Winchester Small Pistol Primers. Most of them will fire if you run them back thru the gun, but some wont. Next time I go shoot I will save some of the bad ones so you can see they have a substantial strike on the cup of the primer.

I've shot a crap load of WSR primers in my Open guns and Limited gun. I've noticed that mine are discolored also but they all go bang. Run your index finger along the rows of ammo you have in your pics. If there are any high primers you'll feel them.

CYa,

Pat

Edited by whatmeworry