Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Another Help me decide between the 550 and 650

Alright guys here's my story:

I have been reloading for only a few months now. I am currently using a Lee Classic Turret. I have turrets and dies setup for .223, .243, 9mm and 45ACP. Me and my Dad both have AR's in .223 and plan to shoot quite a bit as well as stocking up for who knows what. We already have 3K+ once fired brass plus components and looking at the Turret setup, I just don't have the time to load that much on a Turret.

My #'s for each round go like this:

.223 = Like I said I have a LOT 3K+ to load plus I have a bunch of friends that will be hitting me up as well so I expect this to be at LEAST 3K-6K per year.

9mm = I currently shoot maybe 200 per month so I expect it to be around 1200 per year (this is an acceptable amount to do on my current Turret setup). I may get into IPSC in the future and at that point my 9mm count would GREATLY increase.

.45ACP = This will be VERY low volume probably less than 500 rounds per year (again, with the low round count this definitely can be done on the Turret)

.243 = This is my Coyote/Bobcat hunting round. Realistically 200 rounds or less per season and I think I would PREFER to do these on the Turret.

Cost is a huge factor for me (obvious nod for the 550) and whichever one I go with will be the stripped down bare bones model at the beginning (gonna get it setup for .223 and use my existing Lee dies). I just don't want to have buyers remorse later on feeling like I should have gotten the 650 for the Progressive function as well as the 5th die (which would probably end up being the Powder Check). I'm assuming though getting the 650 WITHOUT the Case feeder leaves the Progressive function kind of mute since i would be handling both the cases and bullets.