Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Skinny on E3

pskys2

I've seen several refrences to E3, but no load data yet.

Anyone have any data for a .40 S&W? I'm loading 185 Laser LRN and 180 Berry PRN to 1.170 OAL.

Starting with 3.7 of E3 in new Starline Brass with F100 Primers.

Planning on Chrono'ing tonight.

I've seen several refrences to E3, but no load data yet.

Anyone have any data for a .40 S&W? I'm loading 185 Laser LRN and 180 Berry PRN to 1.170 OAL.

Starting with 3.7 of E3 in new Starline Brass with F100 Primers.

Planning on Chrono'ing tonight.

I just started playing with E3 as well. I tested out 3.9 and 4.25 grains this past weekend. 180 bear creek moly coated loaded to 1.2 OAL. STI Edge.

The 3.9 Grains came out to right at 915 FPS (165 PF) and 4.25 came out at 970 FPS (175PF). these are ten shot averages.

Temp was about 50 Degrees

Dave. FWIW.......I tried some when the thread popped up about it being the next Wunderpowdr.......The smoke seemed less but I couldnt get it to group worth a crap at 18yds indoors......I tried 2 batches, and proably need to try it again.

I just tried Solo 1000, and have pretty much decided I will never be without this powder again.......

Good luck with your tests....

DougC

Chrono'ed some on 10 Feb., temp: 50 degrees, elev: 2900, SV "dot tracker AET barrel. 4.3 grains E3, WW once fired case, CCI SP, MG 180 FN, 1.185 COAL. Ten shots, extreme spread: 17, Avg Vel: 938, standard deviation: 05, power factor: 168.9.

I sight my iron-sighted pistols at 17 yards offhand. I was able to keep ten rounds in the upper A box slowfire. Works for me!

A starting point for E3 is to use Red Dot data then use about 10% less powder charge by weight. Red Dot and E3 are the same burn speed powder but E3 is 10% denser. Here is my load:

Mixed brass

Precision 185 gr bullet

loaded to 1.170 long

3.9 gr E3

Here is my crono and more info on E3

http://www.brianenos.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=52071

Edited by 3GunF1Guy

A bit of an update.