Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Periodically Verifying Press Setup

sandhu

Hi,

I'm new to reloading and started with a Dillon RL550B.

I am currently only loading one caliber (9x19 mm - minor) and have everything setup the way I want. The Dillon dies are locked into place with the supplied lock rings.

I don't remove the toolhead or make any other changes to the setup, other than filling the powder and primer tubes in place.

How often should I verify the powder charge and OAL+crimp in order to make sure things are still adjusted properly ?

For dimensional checks, I case gauge the ammo and measure a round about every 100 rounds or so.

I am more curious about the frequency of the verification of the powder charge.

Thanks.

Cheers,

Achint

Edited by sandhu

I check the OAL and the powder charge every session and usually just eyeball the crimp.

+1

It only takes a few minutes to have confidence in your loads. I also use a marker (small dot) for a visual check.

I do the same as mentioned above.

Also, an excellent tip I found online and have on my own 550B is a small aquarium fish pump attached to the hopper tube with one zip tie. The small fish pumps set up a vibration and makes the powder charges much more consistent. Clays doesn't seem to throw that well but it sure does when the pump is on. I am using WSF in my 9mm loads and it throws less than .1 of a grain variance every time with the pump on.

Take care,

Dave

That's a great idea about the fish pump - gotta try that with Clays. If you're using Viht N320, though, it probably won't add much - I've found that it meters very consistently. AAMOF, out of curiosity I once ran the measure dry and measured each of the last 10 powder drops. Only the last partial drop was off what I'd set the powder bar for.