Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Dillema for Dillon RL 550B die choice

villihun

G'day everyone

I'm new to the reloading and I have joined this forum because it was one of the most practial and informative forums I have come across.

There are a few questions I would like to ask and any help would be greatly appreciated.

1. I'm thinking to buy either the Dillon RL 550B or the Forster Co-ax single stage press.

a) What would be the reloading rate per hour with these presses. (would like to reload about 800+ rounds per month)

2. I will reload 9mm and 38/357cal. mainly led and hard cast led bullets, so which dies would be the best performers, considering that some dies are not performing as good with these calibers? Reffering to some bulging on the bottom of the cases like belted magnum appearance.

3. Do the dies clog/gunk up quicker with led projectiles? And what would be the easiest and best way to clean them?

4. Is the EGW die (U-die) made by Lee, the universal re-sizing die? <_<

Welcome to the best place on the internet!!

With a 550 and some practice you can load 300 per hour pretty comfortably. You will work your tail off to load 100 per hour on a single stage. I have both and for your use would recommend the 550, our host sells them in the webstore at a great price too.

Dies, for the dies a Dillon die set will work well. They come apart for cleaning without losing adjustment, and I believe they are the only ones you can buy that have that feature. With lead bullets you will need to clean the seat and crimp dies pretty often, maybe even as often as every 6 or 7 hundred rounds. If you have a revolver with big chambers and the Dillon die won't go low enough to take it out you can get a Lee carbide sizing die for about $12, it will go low enough. I wouldn't use the U-die with lead bullets, it won't help anything.

Welcome to the forum, villihun.