Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Springfield .40 for Production

aerosigns

Okay guys,

I have toyed with the idea of getting a Production gun. My day job is switching to .40 Sig 226 DAK's.

After looking through the forums, I just don't think the Sig is the 'best' viable candidate. I have tried the M&P's, and XD's side by side, and the XD just points better for me.

I definitely want it in .40 for the obvious reason.

Since I have zero experience in Production which one is the best platform to start with. I was looking at the Custom Shop gun, but from the posts I have read it will blow me right out of the 'production' water with the frame mods, and magwell changes.

My thoughts were the 5" slide Tactical, then have a trigger job and adjustable sights added.

Help me before I do something stupid.

If I was you I would contact Scot Springer at springerprecision.com or canyoncreekcustoms.com as they offer a production ready gun around 1K that has everything you need to run a XD in production.

If you don't reload and are going to be buying factory .40 to shoot production the gun will run 100% of the time. If you reload you won't be able to run under 140PF as the slide is just to heavy to get it to cycle reliably at low PF levals with the right spring to keep it in battery.

Even though your job is issueing 40s I would still go with a 9mm if your going the route of XD. The 9mm tac's slides are lighter and can run at lower PF levels. 9mm ammo is cheaper all around and you can get production ready ammo at minor PF off any shelf.

With all that said I made B class with my 40 tactical before I sold it to get my STIs. In the near future I'll be buying a production ready 9mm from Scott though as I love those XDs.