Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Olympic Arms Ultra Match Barrels

paraman1

Anybody shooting one of these . I am going to replace the barrel on my Bushy since the pundits were right and the best accuracy I could wring out of it was 1.25 inches at a 100 yards . While this is great for a combat rifle , it stinks for a varmint rifle that will get used once or twice a year in 3-gun matches .

While I have no experience with the Olympic barrel, I have a barrel issue also. I'm shooting a Bsuhmaster V-Match 24" that is super accurate (.600") that I'd like to shorter and add a muzzle break. I'm concerned that messing with this may be the wrong thing to do and could reduce my accuracy. Might be best to leave this one alone. Comments????

Mike Finch

Team Sidearmor

Leadheads Bullets

My buddy bought an Oly with the heavy, fluted match barrel. Accuracy was fine. 1/4" @ 100yds was readily produced. I've heard a lot of anecdotal mystique bandied about Oly's "match" barrels and it may well be true, but I have a tough time believing that they're making a substantially better barrel than any of the other premium barrels available. Given Oly's quality record in the past, I'm not sure they'd be my first stop for a premium anything.

I have used Olympic products incl. barrels. If I remember their catalog, the Ultramatch is a cut-rifling barrel and Oly also offers button rifled barrels. I have a button rifled Oly 1" dia varmit barrel and even w/ the worst ammo, its under an inch at 100. HOWEVER, its far too heavy for 3 gun. What you are looking for is:

1) NON chrome lined - none of the top National Match/Camp Perry guns have chrome lined barrels. Glen Zediker's book explains this better.

2) a quality barrel such as a Krieger, Douglas, etc. from a known builder like Benny or White Oak Precision (do a search & you will find it).