Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Benelli Shotguns

grim death

I need some help with an optic sight for my shotgun.

I am shooting a GRAMS ENG. worked and tuned Benelli M1 90 super field with a 21" barrel. I have never used optics on a shotgun before, but with as fast and smooth as my gun now runs, I want to try and see if I can shoot some what close to the guns potential.

Any input on sights or optics ( pros or cons ) would be great.

Thanks,

grim

Grim,

If you go to TTI's website (tti-intl.com) there's a link to a shooting tips section. I posted a review of whether or not to put optics on a shotgun. Check it out. It doesn't go into a lot a specifics about equipment, but I think it will start you in the right direction.

Erik

I'd go with a Holosight, Aimpoint or an Optima style sight. A dot is not essential on an open shotgun. I feel that they make little difference on steel targets using shot. However, they are a real advantage when using slugs. Dots are de rigueur on most (but not all) of the better shooters' shotguns.

There has been a real trend towards the smaller optima style sights mounted in the rib. They can be mounted very low so you can have a proper checkweld. This is probably the ideal setup. Check out JP Enterprises, they've pioneered this setup. If memory serves correctly Voigt, Holmes and Bendnorz use this setup.

Cmores are too high off the bore, causing the shooter to lift their face off the stock. Aimpoints can be mounted lower and are probably the way to go for a traditional dot. If you go this route you may consider a stock w/ an adjustable comb. Again, if memory serves correctly, Jerry Miculek uses a Holosight and a stock w/an adjustable comb.

Grim: