Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Where do I get a gracy or girard trimmer

GentlemanJim

http://www.giraudtool.com

Keep in mind when comparing, that when you buy the Giraud, you're getting 3 *carbide* cutters for the price of 1 because Giraud uses the industry-standard tri-lobed cutter design. Pay more up front, save in consumables over the long haul.

I have no experience with the Gracey, but with the Giraud, a cutter set up for say .308 it's good for everything 30 cal. All you need to do is buy new shellholders for each cartridge.

One tip I'd give is to use it so that the cases are vertical. This will keep brass shavings from getting in the case holder and skewing the cases during trimming. I've trimmed probably 1500 cases with my Giraud now and am very happy with it.

http://www.giraudtool.com

Keep in mind when comparing, that when you buy the Giraud, you're getting 3 *carbide* cutters for the price of 1 because Giraud uses the industry-standard tri-lobed cutter design. Pay more up front, save in consumables over the long haul.

I have no experience with the Gracey, but with the Giraud, a cutter set up for say .308 it's good for everything 30 cal. All you need to do is buy new shellholders for each cartridge.

One tip I'd give is to use it so that the cases are vertical. This will keep brass shavings from getting in the case holder and skewing the cases during trimming. I've trimmed probably 1500 cases with my Giraud now and am very happy with it.

That is one nice machine. I am still trimming by hand. I just might look into this. ;)

I learned how to process brass from Dave but I go one step further, I run the brass back through the neck sizer after trimming, that way any burrs or flash are knocked off. After polishing the necks are smooth with no burrs and the bullets seat nicely.

Get back to work Dave!

Edited by TMC

Jim,