Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Problem with new Lone Wolf barrel

Mr. Chitlin

I've been shooting a G35 in competition for about 6 or 7 years. Never the slightest bobble with it. In the last year, I have started shooting lead bullets to try to stretch the shooting dollar. As I see more and more Glock KB threads, I have become more and more concerned about shooting the lead in the factory barrel.

I received a new Lone Wolf barrel this past week, and I am now having trouble with the ammo feeding into the chamber. The load was a 175 grain lead SWC over 4.1 gr of Titegroup loaded to 1.140". I've used this load since last summer with the factory barrel and it has fed like a champ. I got to try it out yesterday, and had problems with it hanging on the feed ramp. I came home and loaded 100 at 1.130". Back to the range today and I still have the issue.

Naturally, I forgot to take my parts box to the range today, but yesterday I did put the factory recoil spring back in and was still having the same problem. I'm running a 13# captured spring on a steel rod. I have a 15# in the parts box, and the original factory guide rod in the box, too. There again, the 13# has worked perfectly with this load for about a year now using the factory barrel. Now I can't get through a full mag without it either hanging on the feed ramp or not going fully into battery with the LW barrel. I've done the test where I hold the trigger back and slowly let the slide go forward. It goes completely into battery every time and seems to have good force behind it, not dragging at all. I've also polished the chamber and feed ramp on the barrel to make sure it was clean, no metal removal, just a good polishing.

An interesting side note: With the factory barrel, these loads average 965 fps. With the LW barrel, they average 1000 fps, same day, just swapping barrels.

Any suggestions?? It will be next weekend before I can hit the range again.

Here are a few pics of the problem...