Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

.355 Or .356 Bullets?

Big Guy

I currently shoot a DP ministroker with a Bar-Sto barrel in .38 super (.356). For my next order of bullets, should I go with the .355 (which I have been shooting for the last 6 months) or change to the .356 bullet? How much of a difference with regards to accuracy is there between the two rounds? Also, should I go with the JHPs or FMJs? :huh:

Edited by Big Guy

I only wish there was a bigger variety of .356 sized bullets available. Yes, even for .355 gauged barrels. No, your gun will not blow up from "higher pressures". IMHO.

JHP's have a few advantages over FMJ's, especially if you shoot open.

The FMJ's normally have exposed lead tails which flash/vaporize and foul up your comps eventually. But they are usually cheaper.

JHP's ( :wub:;) ) are indeed fully encapsulated with no lead to vaporize. Also because of the empty(?!) hollow point, tends to make the bullets longer, which also seem to help the comps baffles do their job better.

So, guess which size and shape I'd prefer...

I only wish there was a bigger variety of .356 sized bullets available. Yes, even for .355 gauged barrels. No, your gun will not blow up from "higher pressures". IMHO.

JHP's have a few advantages over FMJ's, especially if you shoot open.

The FMJ's normally have exposed lead tails which flash/vaporize and foul up your comps eventually. But they are usually cheaper.

JHP's ( :wub:;) ) are indeed fully encapsulated with no lead to vaporize. Also because of the empty(?!) hollow point, tends to make the bullets longer, which also seem to help the comps baffles do their job better.

So, guess which size and shape I'd prefer...

OK. If I understood correctly, you recommend the .356 in JHP.

Now, since I will be using a certificate from Montana Gold and MG either sells the .356 in FMJ or the .355 in JHP, which one you recommend????

:blink:

Mario,