Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Painted Grips And Speed Holsters

38superman

While I must admit I have never had any issues with holsters, now suddenly that has changed.

I recently had Jim Shannahan paint a grip for my Edge.

Jim did a beautiful job and I had the grip installed a couple of weeks ago.

Today was my first day shooting the gun from a holster and my new grip went from shiney and new to chewed up in a matter of a few minutes.

My holster is an Ultimate Ghost that I have been using for several years.

Apparently the numerous coats of paint and stippling on the front of the trigger guard was sufficient to make the gun a poor fit for the holster.

The gun didn't want to seat easily into the holster and when it did slip into place it refused to lock up.

The gun dragged badly coming out of the holster and the paint chipped on both sides of the trigger guard.

Once started, it all the paint on the trigger guard began to flake off quickly.

So much for the shiney new grip.

Tony

Edited by tlshores

Hello: I don't know about the painted grips but in the car world that is called bad prep work. You may want to call your painter and ask what he thinks happened. I had a car painted one time and the paint came off very easily from stone chips(race car). I asked the painter what happened and he said they got oil and water in the paint mix from there compressor and added a fish eye additive to try to fix the problem. Needless to say he had to repaint a couple of cars. Hope this helps. Thanks Eric

You can also modify the holster to better fit the gun. There is a locking tab on the inside of the holster that can be profiled a bit. On my ghost I sanded it down with a nail file and changed the angle a bit. Much smoother.

My expierence with painted grips is they are slippery and there isn't an easy way to keep paint on the trigger guard since most speed rigs grip the gun there. They look way cool however.