Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Slide lightening and light recoil springs

charles

Would lightening the slide and using a reduced power recoil spring reduce recoil and low faster splits in a five inch .45.  Would this be benificilal for an idpa gun if the lightening was done internally?  Please tell me what you know about slide lightening.  Thanks

charles,

I'm not an expert on this but this is an experience I had dealing with a 45 and a 40 gun. Both are Limited guns, (no comps or dots). I shoot my STI Edge .40 (5 inch gun) with a 11lb recoil spring in it and no lightened slide. It is a Unique full profile slide. I have around 11,500 rounds through it of major IPSC power factor loads. I swap out shok buffs only 1-2 twice a year. There is no excessive damage to the gun or parts and the buffs are not being beaten up or excessively damaged or worn.

However, I have a Para P13.45 (Commander size slide and frame) in 45 and had a 14lb recoil spring with 1 shok buff in it. I ran 130 rounds of factory Winchester 230gr white box ammo in it. Afterward, I broke the gun down and looked at the shok buff and was amazed at the amount of damage to it. The buff was so badly destroyed, it was SHREDDED and almost in two separate pieces. I couldn't have done that much damage to the shok buff by myself if I had my Cold Steel knives with me. Obviously, the recoil was too much and beating the shok buff to death. Now that is part of the shok buffs job is to take the beating instead of the gun and frame taking it. But this was way too much. It should last at least 1000 rounds before changing the buff.

To me, this said the 45 has more recoil or at least different recoil than the 40, which I already knew, but didn't think it was that different.

Lightening the slide and/or using a lighter recoil spring should speed up the slide velocity. If you're using a 45, just watch the recoil spring weight you put in and watch for signs of excessive recoil and damage to your gun.