Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Arrendondo springs for STI/SV mags

Byron Simpson

I'm still pretty new to the Limited gun game.  What are your thoughts about Arrendondo springs, followers and basepads in .40 S&W STI or SV 140mm mags?

I bought some used mags that need rebuilding and want to make sure I make an educated decision on the parts.  I am leaning towards Grams springs and followers with Dawson basepads, but the Arredondo parts are much less expensive, so they are tempting me.  

(Edited by Byron Simpson at 2:11 pm on Dec. 26, 2001)

Byron,

I currently use 4 SVI  and 2 STI tubes. All magazines have Arrendondo (red) followers, ISMI springs, and Arrendondo flat base pads. I have had great success so far with no problems. However, I have to admit that I just sent off 1 SVI and 1 STI mag to Beven Grams at Grams Engineering. He is going to put both mags back in specs, install his follower, spring, and base pad on both of them.

I will then test them to see how they work and function and make sure they are reliable. Plus, he makes them legally hold 20 rounds of .40 and run perfect. I have to say, his reputation is flawless from everything I've heard, read, and everyone I've talked to. From talking to him on the phone, he definitely seems to know his sh*t when it comes to mags.

Give me a little bit to test them when I get them back and I'll let you know. I'm sure I will be extremely happy.

• 2 weeks later...

Well Byron,

This is my first installment when testing the Grams parts, and tuning. First off, Beven is a hell of nice guy and has a lot of info on tuning mags and what makes them work.

Second, I got my mags back tuned and ready to "race" very quickly. They look great and the mods he made to them look fantastic. I shot them yesterday at the range for a quick practice session.