Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Where to Get Springs

cypher

After reading all the postings about how different spring weights can affect the felt recoil of a 1911 I feel like I am a spring expert now...;)

So I feel like I should try my hand at running some lighter springs... Right now I'm running a very heavy recoil spring (something like 20#) and I would like to buy a selection of springs to tune my gun with (5" 1911 in .45 ACP)

A few calls around town and I realize no one around here carries anything other than the odd spring.

Are there online sources that I should consider?  does someone sell a kit that has a few different weight springs in it?  If not, what spring weights do you guys recommend I get?

I'm very comfortable with my trigger pull at about 3.5#, so I don't really want to monkey with the sear spring.  However, I was thinking of replacing the the hammer spring.  What do you think?  How much would that affect my trigger pull and what weight should I get?

I have shok buffs, but I have some very old CP ones.  Are the new ones any better?  I understand, (again, from what I've read here) that there are different color ones with different characteristics.  Any recommendations?

Thanks

Homero

Quote: I was thinking of replacing the the hammer spring.  What do you think?  How much would that affect my trigger pull and what weight should I get?

You can get by with a 15 lb hammer spring if you use Federal primers...I use a 17 lb hammer spring, it ignites everything.

Bill

Cypher,

There is a post on the springs forum about the trigger pull issue.

Short version - yes , it will make it lighter as there is not as much pressure on the sear that must be overcome.

As for springs online, I like the http://www.speedshooter.com a little cheaper than most ( $6.50 vs $ 7.90 ) plus Rene sells lots of other things that you might want, like Shock Buffs ( Sorry Brian )