Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Shorten Sti Dust Cover?

Richie

After some searching on here with no luck, I'm just wondering what all would be involved to shorten a STI Long/Wide Frame, so it would be suitable to use in IDPA competition for ESP this year? I appreciate all the feedback, I have a single stack in 9mm (Springfield) set up for ESP, but I was thinking i'd like to be able to shoot the STI in both IDPA and USPSA so I only have one gun to get familiar with. IDPA will be the majority of matches I plan to shoot this year. I'm trying to get used to shooting major (controlling the recoil, being able to see the sights at all time while shooting major) in limited class as i'm still very new to all of this. I'd really like to just get to shooting this gun only and sell the springfield but want to get some opinions first on my possibilities first.

Thanks!

After some searching on here with no luck, I'm just wondering what all would be involved to shorten a STI Long/Wide Frame, so it would be suitable to use in IDPA competition for ESP this year? I appreciate all the feedback, I have a single stack in 9mm (Springfield) set up for ESP, but I was thinking i'd like to be able to shoot the STI in both IDPA and USPSA so I only have one gun to get familiar with. IDPA will be the majority of matches I plan to shoot this year. I'm trying to get used to shooting major (controlling the recoil, being able to see the sights at all time while shooting major) in limited class as i'm still very new to all of this. I'd really like to just get to shooting this gun only and sell the springfield but want to get some opinions first on my possibilities first.

Thanks!

A hacksaw? Band saw? Shouldn't be a big deal.

Make sure you have a bushing barrel and you should be legal for IDPA