Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

G35 Mags

JFD

I've got 10 mags for my G35, all purchased in the last 2 months. All are full capacity mags and I'm using Dawson extensions and the supplied springs.

19 reloadable rounds is no problem. I can cram 20 rounds in the mags, but there is absolutely ZERO room left. If I can manage to get a mag seated there is a huge amount of pressure on the slide, and I feel there's no way the gun will function correctly. Doesn't matter anyway because I don't want to add 30 seconds to my reload.

Now it must be time to cut a spring and see what happens. I've never had to do a thing to my Para mags to get 21 rounds in there, so I have no experience with this kind of thing.

Is there anything I need to know prior to cutting up one of these springs? A certain place to cut, or no way should I cut anything?

I've looked and looked here, but it appears this combo gives some people 20 reloadable rounds and only gives others 19. No suggestions have been found to resolve the "problem". I don't care if all the mags hold 20, but I would really like it if 2 or 3 did to start stages. My wife will end up with this gun and I don't want to short-change her as most Limited shooters getting 20+1 even though I realize 19+1 would get the job done.

I'd maybe feel a little guilty since I've got 21+1, so I want to give this a good effort.

Any help would be appreciated.

So I should have bought those LEO marked mags from CDNN?

If that's the problem, then I'd buy a few more in a heartbeat.

One nice thing about the Glock is that I can buy 3 mags for the price of a single Para mag :D If anyone will confirm the LEO mags from CDNN would be my best bet, I'll order some tonight. If they don't solve the problem, then I still have 3 more full capacity mags. Extra full cap mags are NEVER a bad thing since I believe the Brady Crapola will be reborn very soon.