Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

7 Vs 8 Revo

foosball

Hi guys (and gals),

I just made up my mind to shoot my 6 " 686 7 shot with moon clips rather than go out and buy a 627 pc 8 shot for now. I am just starting out. Joined the CAWheelburnners here in California. I'm looking forward to the IRC in June. I'm not new to shooting, having military and law enforcement backgournd, but I haven't done the competitions. I after my first meet I think I'm going to love it.

So the question is.... How much will I miss that 8th round.

My first match was the last weekend and I screwed the pooch on a couple of stages but overall having never shot in competition before, I felt I did ok with comp III speedloaders and a 6 shot 686. I did feel the that being the only guy that used speedloaders while everyone else had an 8 shot moon clipped 627 pc guns, I was at a disadvantage. <_<

So after the meet, I decided to switch out my 686 2 1/2 7 shot cylinder and put it into my 6" and had Bob Miles clip it for me. I figured I saved about $1,200.00 dollars right now that I would rather spend on some more reloading equipment and shoot more.

The only advantage I see beside the speed of the moon clips is that I had a miss fire on one of the stages and had to recycle around to get the last shoot in before the reload. I missed shooting the next 6 rounds after the reload. If I had the 7th round then, I could have made the time. Being that the stages are supposed to be 6 round friendly, how much will I miss that 8th round.

Any input would be welcome.

Jeff

Jeff,

Welcome ..... if your mainly shooting ICORE with this gun, you won't be dissadvantaged by running the 7 shot, as all stages are 6 shot neutral, the 7 seven does give you the confidence that if you do have a misfire you have the back up shot there..... this is the same reason I built my Bianchi revolver on a 7 shot.