Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Opinion wanted on buying another CZ

ColoradoNick

I shot my first bowling pin match and had a ton of fun. Won a few rounds before getting knocked out. I used my CZ PO1 omega with stock sights which didn't seem optimal. The long pull of the initial DA crushed me, guaranteed misses 🤣. Using 9mm didn't seem as big of an issue as some people made it out to be though. I just need to practice the initial DA a lot more.

I have a shadow 2 setup for CO but would like to continue to shoot bowling pin matches and they require irons. initially I thought I would buy another shadow 2 and set it up with irons. Same holster, shared mags, etc. seems cost effective. Thinking more about it does it make more sense to buy something in .40? A little more knock down for the pin matches and if I wanted to shoot Limited I'd be more competitive. I think there's a good chance I'll shoot CO and Limited in the future. I'm an "all in kinda guy" but I am new to this. 

If .40 is the answer is there anything that shares mags/holster with a shadow 2? 

A Shadow 2 is too heavy for IDPA.  A Shadow 2 with iron sights would allow you to shoot Production, Limited (minor), and Limited 10 (minor).  The Tactical Sport is available in .40 S&W, but wouldn't share any accessories with your current CZ firearms.  The Tactical Sport is also too heavy for IDPA.

Have shot a TSO .40 in a lot of bowling pin matches and I’ve compared it a decent amount with my 9mm. I think you’ll notice a significant gain in performance if bowling pin matches is your main goal. The extra knockdown power is very helpful in close matches

15 hours ago, Pmatte1 said:

Have shot a TSO .40 in a lot of bowling pin matches and I’ve compared it a decent amount with my 9mm. I think you’ll notice a significant gain in performance if bowling pin matches is your main goal. The extra knockdown power is very helpful in close matches