Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

JP GMR recoil system.

usmc1974

I am new to the JP GMR15 and JP rifles.  So I have to ask a question, how often do you Replace the little rubber washers on the recoil system? I took it out and shot it, yesterday about maybe 200, and I noticed when I went to clean it, there was rattle.  I when I took it  apart all the little rubber washers was chewed into little pieces, gone all but 2 and retaining pin came off.

I try to change them out annually, but I do keep an eye on them.  They typically become pretty smashed before they disintegrate.  If they are flat I will switch them out before there is an issue if I am not up to the maintenance interval.  I check them every time I clean the rifle and try to keep as much oil off them as possible.  Most oils and rubbers do not like to play well together.  

Was the rifle bought used, is it new?  

2 hours ago, Boomstick303 said:

I try to change them out annually, but I do keep an eye on them.  They typically become pretty smashed before they disintegrate.  If they are flat I will switch them out before there is an issue if I am not up to the maintenance interval.  I check them every time I clean the rifle and try to keep as much oil off them as possible.  Most oils and rubbers do not like to play well together.  

Was the rifle bought used, is it new?  

Got it used off BEF I want to Menards and brought the last 10 they had. lol Thanks

Edited by usmc1974

• 1 month later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Once you find the correct combo of stainless and tungsten weights the O rings will last nearly forever. 

at first I would see then flattened or chewed up. Now that I have the correct combo of weights my O rings have no wear after 2 years of weekly match use. 

• 2 months later...