Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Red dot troubles

Warrior75

I decided to jump into the open class in icore. Using my a S&W 627. I bought an Allchin brand mount for the rmr / holosun. Mounted a holosun 507c. I tried to sight it in today. At 15yds. The closest I could get to zeroed was 3 inches high. I ran out of adjustment with the dot. I tried it at 25 yds with the same result. At 7 yds was right on. First shots at 15 yds were 12 inches high. The sight has a 25 moa adjustment range. Shooting short colts at 125pf. Does anyone have any suggestions on what to do to correct this? Was shooting benched and off a sandbag at 15 and 25 yds. Thanks

I'm far from an expert on this subject. But I have the same mount with a vortex red dot and didn't have this trouble. I know in general a slower bullet is. One with less velocity shoots higher. So you probably could go with a heavier bullet moving slower but not sure you'd get 3 inches. Something you'd have to play with. The other option would be to shim the red dot. I'm sure someone else will come along with a more definitive answer. Good luck. 

I have the same mount on my 9s9.  I have used it on my 627s as well.  The idea is to sight in about 1 inch low at 7 yards.  That will put you dead on at 15 and about an inch high at 25. 

First thing I would do is take the sight off and then re-mount it.  If that doesn't work call John Alllchin and tell him your problem.  I'm sure he will be very helpful.  

Shimming it works as well.  Get some small stirps of copper or aluminum from Ace.

DSC_9163.jpg

5 hours ago, alecmc said:

If you are truly out of adjustment, you'll need to shim the dot where needed so you can gain the needed space. Get some shim stock thats a few thou thick and go from there. 

Where do you get it or what do you use for shim material in this situation? Thanks.

51 minutes ago, Warrior75 said:

Where do you get it or what do you use for shim material in this situation? Thanks.