Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Hornady 115 gr HAP’s

1911in9mm

For those that have shot them, any knowledge you can share?   Where are you seeing your best accuracy with them, COL wise?  Do they tend to like a good jump to the lands, or plunk them and back them off just enough to cover loading variances?   Any particular PF they tend to shoot better at, etc.etc.?

I have been using them for several years in both 9 major and .38 super. I run OAL of 1.165 in 9 major and 1.240 in .38 super. I have done some bench testing and they are more accurate than the Montana Gold and Zero I was using, however I'm not sure if the difference is meaningful given the average uspsa field course. If you have a situation like 50 yard sideways targets that were at Area 3 a while back they do give some extra mental confidence. 

I use a Lee U Die for both to be sure there is no setback problem. I have no idea about distance from lands. As long as it fits in the chamber and sits a little under the barrel hood without hitting the lands you are good to go.

115 HAPs are the most accurate and most consistent JHP bullets I've shot.  OALs are the most consistent also.  Second best is Montana Gold.  Third is a tie between Precision Delta and Everglades.  Same goes for 124s.  I've never shot 125 HAPs.  I have about 2800 Everglades 115 JHPs left to use up.  I'll use them in my PCC loads for steel challenge.  At 1.161" they fed perfectly in my Open guns.  I had the barrel throated so it would accept the HAPs up to 1.165". 

I just opened my last box of 3000 115 HAPs.  So I'll be looking for a sale to order more.  If I start to run low and can't get the HAPs, the MGs are a perfectly acceptable second choice.