Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New guy with an P320 X5

Bryamill

Hey folks, I'm new with a couple of matches under my belt. Shooting limited while I get the hang of things and will eventually either move to Production or maybe CO. I've also considered purchasing something in the Limited major category at some point...if budget allows. We'll see where the sport takes me. In the meantime, I'm curious about recommended upgrades for my X5. I'm on the waiting list for the GG's competition trigger. I keep reading about swapping out the guide rod and springs. I'm assuming this makes it softer shooting? I'm currently shooting factory ammo, but reloading is planned sometime later this year. So, just looking for opinions on upgrades I should consider with my current setup. 

After the trigger, the next upgrade I did was to install the tungsten guide rod and a 12# Wilson combat recoil spring for my loads. My reloads are 124 Gr FMJ with 4.1 Gr Winchester 231. It’s soft shooting and flat.

The guide rod will allow you to use a wide variety of aftermarket 1911 recoil springs to tune the gun to your load.  Many people have commented that the 320 X5 is oversprung for most 9mm loads, so a lighter spring may feel better to you, even running factory ammo.  While the rod does add a little weight, it is probably something you won't notice much.

Thanks. I see that looking at Springer Precision, there is a tungsten and a stainless steel. Grayguns has a couple of options as well. Is there a specific guide rod I should target? Also, are the replacement rods toolless? I apologize if any of these questions are obvious. 

Guide rod and spring I would highly recommend. The tungsten guide rod will add 3.4oz and set you back about $100. The steel rod weighs 1.6oz and is about $20.