Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Is the Comp-Tac beltfeed mag carrier system legal for USPSA production ?

Chrishoward1364

Hi there guys, the the title says most of it, I'm relatively new to USPSA and having shot limited thus far am likely switching over to production. I have been looking for solutions to consolidate space for mag carriers, but I am unclear on the legality of the Comp-tac Beltfeed mag carrier system, which looks like a good use of space. I have read the USPSA rules, and I dont have the relevant measurements on the mag carrier system to verify legality. 

I have had a CRO essentially say it could be legal, but she was unable to provide a definite answer.  I was curious if anyone out there is using it, and could confirm it was in fact legal.

Edited by Chrishoward1364

Comp Tac says

" Comp-Tac has designed the Belt Feed in legal in USPSA Competitive Shooting Organization for most individuals, however, results can vary based on body type and belt used. See USPSA Rules Here. The Belt Feed is NOT legal for IDPA."

The rule is that the pistol and mag carriers have to be a maximum of 2" from the inside of the inner belt or the body. (Appendix D of the USPSA rulebook) I can see where that might be useful for Production or L-10, but I think it could be confusing when grabbing for a mag. I haven't used one so that's just conjecture.

Thanks Bkreutz, I don't think it would be a concern, but its a valid point to consider. I know the measurements that are legal, I just don't have the measurements on the carrier itself. Hopefully someone here has tried it and knows firsthand. 

Thanks for the comment and the opinion.

I still have one on my belt, and if I ever make it to a match again, I'll use it.  The only time I'd worry about legality, is if I was using a Glock 20/21 or gun with similar wide mags.  Even then it'll probably make the limit, but I'd want to confirm by measuring.

For the regular 9 and .40 mags, it easily meets the measurement limits..........