Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Super 1050 Primer Feed Issues

Yo Brethren - 

I'm new to the Super 1050, but have had it apart for cleaning and lubing several times - so by no means an expert, but familiar with its components. I bought it off this forum in near new condition, several months ago. It was setup for 9 mm but I bought a toolhead and set it up for processing 5.56 and banged out about 3k cases. I reinstalled the 9 mm toolhead to load, but it wouldn't feed primers without me manually fiddling with the slide actuating lever (if it was full rearward, I'd pull it forward and a primer would usually fall into the primer slide cup). I've scoured this forum and talked to Dillon today. Dillon offered suggestions but I was at work so could not be in front of the press during the conversation. This is as far as I've  gotten: if I cycle the press very slowly, and I mean very slow, as the primer slide slides back to pick up the next primer, it will feed about 100% (10 for 10 primers tested). If I cycle the press even close to a normal speed, it will not catch the new primer. This is everything I've tried to this point:

• ensured magazine fill cap is seated but not tight
  • ensured blue tip in good condition (fed primers down it and they flowed out smoothly). I even put a new cap on and tested it. It worked the same.
  • ensured the primer slide was smooth, with no obstructions/friction, and that it slides to the primer slide stop. My primer slide has the brass roller.
    • I polished the cup where the primer seats in the slide and manually cycled the slide, without the primer arm/cam assembly installed to ensure primers fell into the cup, and it worked fine  (10 primers tested).
  • re-installed the primer arm/cam assembly, ensured it was a close to parallel to press as possible and that it was not binding.