Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Broken Guide Rod

Nate

I was at the range yesterday and my heavy guide rod broke off right at the head as I was shooting groups to get warmed up. I turn my head phones off when I work alone and did not notice the sound of the gun cycling change. As I finished my session I took off my head phones and cycled my gun to dry fire a couple of groups and I could tell that I had a problem. I took it apart and sure enough no guide rod. I picked up all my brass and finally found the guide rod back where I started shooting groups at 50 yards. Not a big deal except that I had the best practice session ever, fast transitions and pairs you could cover with one piece of tape. :o Maybe it is time to try a light guide rod. Don't know why it broke. It was properly fitted and there was no metal to metal contact. It did have 50K or so on it.

I was worried about the lugs and the gun unlocking funny but they were fine. I have a two piece rod that is very light and I used the file on that to fit it and will give it a try. Chevy parts are good for a lot of things not just cars ;)

Ahhh Common??? Where's the love here? :P

I'm just looking for a little support on the "lighter up front is better" argument.

I've been posting on it for years - but to no avail :(

Now I've got a solid case as evidence!!!! And no - I did NOT sabatoge his guide rod!!!!!!

JB

I seen someone make a guide rod out of delin round stock. Cut a steel guide rod off and use the base, drill and tap the delrin, drill a hole thru the base,counter sink a machine screw in the base, and final fit the lenght with the reverse plug or barrel bushing. Sounds like i have talked myself into a project!

Before I switched to STI, I had a Clark Recoil Master built on a Caspian hi-cap frame. It had a standard gov length guide rod(not extended) and could out run thr eveready bunny. That old relic is still around and still won't stop.