Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Help with shooting low

hkguy

I picked up a S&W PC 625 from a forum member here just before queen joyce changed the rules on me. I finally got around to working up some loads and putting in some practice at the range. I am not new to shooting REV, I have been doing so for 4 years now, though with my GP100.

My 625 is shooting POA/POI at 7 yards off a rest (as it should easily) but when I shoot it at my normal speed, I am about 5-7 in low and I am at a loss as to why. I am pretty in tune with my mechanics (movement science major). I had another member at the range take a video of me shooting and it appears that I am not dropping my hands, I don't feel like im slapping the trigger, and I don't think I am torqueing my hands down during the follow through.

below is a pic of the target I shot, red circle is from the rest, green circle is freestyle, and the yellow dot is my POA.

I am going to try and get a video posted too

Thanks in advance for your insight

post-27470-0-12302200-1441680911_thumb.j

In your first string of fire, there is a noticeable dip of the barrel on your 7th shot (which goes click). That suggests you are anticipating recoil or jerking the trigger. Hence the impacts are low left. That's my take anyway :)

Have you tried staging the trigger to see what happens? I had a bad flinch at one time with a revolver and a semi-auto. The results on target with the revolver was shots dropped towards 6 o'clock. With the semi-auto it was more towards 7 and 8 o'clock. Along with the flinch I was I also jerking the trigger.

Staging the trigger by itself didn't cure the flinch, but staging the trigger helped me see more, and helped with the jerking. As I got better and was seeing more, I picked up the speed on the trigger until I was no longer staging and I was pulling the trigger at normal speed.