Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

bullet tumbling from G34 KKM Bayou reloads

1eyedfatman

I'm new to reloading and have been experiencing some tumbling in my G34 gen 4 with a KKM barrel. My load is Bayou 147gr coated bullets, Titegroup 3.0, 1.145 OAL and mixed range brass. At first I thought it may have been how I was reloading (crimp amount, Lee factory crimp die, etc.). But now I'm not sure. Maybe its the combination of the bullet and the KKM barrel. At the range tonight, I tried my adjusted rounds (liter crimp, OAL 1.145 instead of 1.140)…I liked the 135PF I was getting, but the holes at 15yards showed many with a grease ring which was slightly oval instead of a nice circle grease ring. The range let me try a few shots with one of their newer Walter PPQ 9mm's just to compare and the grease rings were perfect circles at 15yards. Someone once said something about having a bur in my barrel…I didn't know what they meant at the time. Also, on another thread someone mentioned the twist rate of the KKM barrel may be suited for liter bullets. Anyboday have any thoughts?

Edited by 1eyedfatman

I'd be very careful with a .5gr bump with TG considering you are already at 135pf w/ 3.0grs. I'm certainly not the expert reloader on the forum, but fast powders can cause pressure spikes when loaded near/at/above max, especially with heavy bullets.

3.6 grains is a Hodgdon published load for TiteGroup with OAL at 1.100" for a jacketed bullet and the OP is running OAL at 1.145" with a coated bullet. There won't any issues with that.

I talked with KKM at some length today. I have a plan A and plan B.

Plan A - switch out the Lee FCD with my Dillon crimp die and take a lite crimp to make sure my lead bullet is not being compressed during the loading process. I could very well not have my dies setup correctly or could be reducing the size of the bullet which does not match well with that barrel.

Plan B - try a different bullet.

Call Donnie Miculek and ask him about your load.