Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Stoeger finally melted down- A saga (edit- it was my fault)

openclassterror

In the interest of being totally forthcoming about the Stoeger M3000, I must give ALL news, not just good news. I work on these things for a living, so obviously everyone expects me to rave when they are fantastic. But how honest would it be if I didn't also report when it craps the bed? Here is the story-

3Gun Nation, Western Regionals (OF COURSE! IT HAD TO HAPPEN AT A MAJOR!)

First stage of the match, 40 round shotgun stage from a shoot house. Stage ran well until the very last reload. I had a short stroke one round prior to stuffing the speedloader without realizing it. Bolt cycled far enough to eject, but didn't activate the lifter. As I attempted to load, I was perplexed that the lifter was jammed. Took me a good 4-5 seconds to realize there was a round on it trapped underneath the bolt. Then I racked the bolt, stuffed the tube, and finished the stage. "No biggie" I thought. Once every thousand rounds or so I get an underpowered shell (cheapo Walmart Federal bulk pack stuff. Really, I have had like 6 malfunctions in 8,000 rounds). Gun ran again until the last stage of the day, then when I activated both aerial clays it did the same thing again (eject, but no lifter). I racked it in time to get a shot off, but missed the clay as it dropped out of sight. "OK, must be dirty. Haven't cleaned it since it was handled by 20,000 people at the SHOT booth"

At the hotel that night I stripped it and cleaned it, oiled it up and put it together. Not terribly dirty, but who knows.