Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

When your STI can't handle your grip

kcobean

My 2011 has had occasional hammer-follow issues since I got it mid-summer last year but I could never figure out why. Manually cycling the hammer it works a hundred times out of a hundred. At a match last weekend, I ended up switching to my backup gun because I had three hammer follows in a single stage.

I was dry firing with it last night and it happened again...so I started playing with it some more and was able to reproduce the issue on demand. Here's a video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bShLuIX8nWE

A friend of mine suggested I remove the grip safety so I can see the sear/hammer operation and identify the problem. Turns out he's a smart guy....I took his suggestion and immediately I can see the issue. My grip has gotten strong enough that it's causing the pistol's grip to flex and that's causing the sear spring to slip down below the sear. Not underneath it, just below it enough that it's not pressing forward on the sear, so the sear doesn't engage the hammer. If I wiggle the safety lever a bit or hand-cycle the slide a few times, it moves back into place.

My backup 2011 isn't stippled nearly as heavily as the Akai gun and I never have this problem with it. I'm wondering if the aggressive stippling and undercut on the Akai grip has weakened it enough to cause this. The gun is practically glued to my hands when I grip it, but that's probably making the problem even worse.

I'm tempted to buy a metal grip for the gun now, just to never have to worry about this again.

Anyway...just figured I'd post this up on the odd chance that a fellow shooter has a similar problem.

Wow....... that's pretty bizarre! and scary. Had my grip stippled and now the mags won't drop unless I take all pressure off the grip.

sorry, I have no idea what the issue is with your 2011 but definitely freaks me out a bit. Unfortunately, I don't know much about how the innards work......yet!