Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Do You Compete in More Than One Shooting Sport? Any Training Benefits?

Bart Solo

I have heard people say they only participate in one shooting sport. Some say they don't want to be confused by the variety of rules. Others say they find other sports boring or pretentious. Some say some sports are not as "realistic" as their own. Assuming you are not a factory professional paid to shoot everything that might sell a pistol, do you compete in more than one shooting sport and what training benefits do you think cross sport shooting provides.

Edited by Bart Solo

Sure, I shoot sporting clays for fun, I shoot GSSF for fun, I shoot Appleseeds, and USPSA is my serious interest but still for fun. I'm not competitive on a serious level yet, but I don't see the harm in the others.

Before I started shooting seriously, I did martial arts for many years and cross trained in Judo, Aikido, Iaido, Chi Gung, etc... and there was no conflict in that either. One is not required to be one dimensional in any way.

For me, I choose one thing to be serious about and the others are for fun. I would not put aside my primary interest to go do one of the others, but to me, I am putting aside something like bowling to go shoot clays.

I shoot tons of stuff, and none of them are truly practice for other stuff. If I want to get better with my USPSA Production gun, I'll shoot it in Steel Challenge, but I do so because I also want to improve the skills in play in Steel Challenge. Same deal for 3-gun, if I've got a Heavy Metal match coming up I'll shoot my 1911 in USPSA. But I won't shoot it at Steel Challenge because the high ride + major isn't as competitive (and burning 200 rds of .45 kind of hurts).

My 3 games are Steel Challenge, USPSA, and 3-gun. I shot IDPA but I don't anymore simply because I enjoy freestyle too much.