Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New build shorty or full size?

Open1215

I know it has been asked but I'm looking to build a 1911 open gun. I'm currently having a tanfoglio limited pro being built and it will have a 4.75 inch with a v-6 port and comp in 38 super. I'm looking to build a 1911 next. Im almost tempted to build in 9mm soi have an open gun in each but if Im at a match and my main gun fails I would have to carry 2 diff calibers of ammo. I guess if my 1911 was 38sc I wouldnt have to carry two calibers and I'm guessing I could run the same ammo and be pretty close to the same PF within a +- 5

So if I could get some input here that would be great! Thank you all.

I am going 2011 I have a pt frame and sti grip. I also have a comp on the way. I wanted 3 guns for years now. An open tanfo (being built) a open 2011 gun and a FN FiveseveN I have been collecting parts for my 2011. I had a hi cap para and sold it a few months ago and I miss the 1911 style. I figure I would shoot both. Not really a back up to either but Be able to pick up either gun and shoot well. I had an open glock and I liked it but really loved my tanfo. So I sold it to get annother. I would like to have one of each (tanfo and 2011) but if the tanfo is down or having work done or whatever shoot the 2011 and vise versa. I'm sure that sounds a bit odd.

Keep the same caliber and try to keep the same setup for a backup gun. It becomes a pain to keep two different ammos and two different calibers to run guns. Then when you find a box you forgot to label you start wondering what was in it and 2nd guessing yourself.

I can see how that would really be bad. I'm thinking 4.5 inch 1911 with 2-3 poppet holes. I'm thinking the two should have a simular power factor from the same ammo. The 1911 build is probably 6 months away or more from starting. I have a bob marvel comp from evergladesammo.com I still need several parts.