Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Richard C.

Richc2048

I just discovered the joy of practical shooting on May 4, 2014. Easy to remember because my first match was themed "May the 4th be with you"

I started shooting maybe 9 years ago and only got serious about a year ago. Before that I was just punching holes in paper and never seemed to ask "why my shots were doing what they were doing" or "am I getting better, worse?" I was just blasting and having a hoot. One day I woke up and decided I really wanted to see improvement. I started going to the range with a purpose of shooting bullseye shots at targets consistantly. Wow. Years of shooting and it seemed I did not have the basics down to even be consistant. Well. A year of working on the fundamentals I can now shoot "groups" and get pretty consistant with my shots if I have all dang day to aim. I need to speed up a lot. I'm not horrible by all means right now but I do need work on it.

I started in Limited Minor just because I did not have the gear to hold more than 2 magazines so I had to load them to capacity. That was a hoot. Now I am shooting production and got my first classification into production as a C shooter.

Now the introduction is done.

I have been attending about 4-6 club matches a month and meeting great people and getting a lot of help on what I need to do. I have 3 kids and an amazing wife that gives me the free time to really take this serious. Thanks honey! I now see the same shooters at the matches and for some reason they decided to help me. People from my level all the way to GM's. (Dirk, Trung, Mike, Nick, Charlie, Joey, Richard S.) I am so thankful for this. Joey has really been a great person to have telling me a lot of the tips, tricks, tactics. I seem to notice not everyone is getting the kind of treatment I have received and I am very blessed for this opportunity. That being said, I do not want to waste their breathe on me so I need to improve.