Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

FN SLP issues

triggerman300

Hey guys/gals, I have an SLP Mk 1 that I have been using in 3-gun for about 4 years now. It has been a very reliable system until recently. The only spring I have replaced is the magazine spring, so I think I am due for some spring/parts replacement. What parts/springs do you guys recommend and where can I find them (part numbers would be great)? In case anyone is curious I typically shoot Federal Target 2.75", 1 1/8oz, 7.5 shot. The only interneal modification to the shotgun is a welded lifter by C-rums. I'm also using the factory light piston and the gun is always cleaned. The two main malfunctions I'm getting is a fail to feed where the round gets caught just on the outside of the chamber, if I press on the hull it will then feed. The second malf is a failure to eject where the hull extracts but then gets caught just on the edge of the chamber. If the shotgun was new I'd be more worried, but since it has ran reliably before my guess is that something is just worn out. And for the record, FN's customer service was NO HELP AT ALL! The rep stated I needed to run heavy loads, even with the light piston??? In any case, all suggestions are welcome. Thanks!

I just finished changing the springs on my SLP after a few years:

Carrier Dog Spring
Carrier Latch Spring
Cartridge Stop Spring

Action Spring

Nordic Mag Spring (changed every year)

Here is the Brownell's schematic:

http://www.brownells.com/.aspx/sid=353/schematicsdetail/?aid=27795&source=ir&cm_mmc=affiliate-_-Itwine-_-IR-_-59979#s32566sid353

For your shell getting caught on the right side of the chamber, I had that issue when the lifter was welded and extended. Some polishing of the chamber with a dremel fixed that issue.

Edited by Phong Nguyen

I actually just ordered some parts for my SLP from FN this am. This is the FN Parts # 1-800-635-1321

Use the SX2 part #'s from the link below and you will be good to go. Pages 11, 12 and 13