Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Skeet/Trap Equipment

jaffo

I'm starting a skeet/trap league with my son. I've never shot formal skeet/trap in my life. This is a good place for us to start because it is a handicap league.

Question is, other a gun, ammo, and ear/eye protection, what do I need as far as equipment? Shell holder for belt?

Obviously this question reveals that I'm a complete newbie as far as clays go.

Thanks in advance.

j

Skeet and trap leagues are huge fun. I wish there was an evening skeet league somewere close by where I live now.

A divided pouch shell holder like this: http://www.gamaliel.com/boballenbags/bob-allen-divided-pouch-wbelt-leatherette.asp would be good and can be had for less than 20 bucks. Or you can get a vest for about 50 bucks. The divided pouches work great and are all that is needed, but the vests can be good if you want a little extra shoulder protection since they normally have some padding built in.

A baseball cap or brimed hat of some type is also good to keep the target pieces and sun off your face is good, too.

Other than that go off and enjoy!

Edited by Bamboo

The best way would be to get some lessons before starting. Bad habits are tough to get rid of. You'll enjoy the sport much more if you get the basics first. You can see what other people are using and ask questions. Great way to learn. Also, the other people in the league will appreciate that you at least know the basics. It makes for a more enjoyable day for everyone.